Sunset in Sepia by Terry Schmidbauer
Sunset in Sepia, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
This is another shot from the north coast of California. It was raining all day as we traveled thru the Redwood Forest. But we timed it right as the sun came out just as it was setting on the coast.

This was taken on a monopod. I had both a mono and a tripod with me on this trip but this scene was light enough to hand hold at ISO 50 so I chose the monopod for a little extra stability. It worked out well, I was able to shoot and move around the scene quickly which made the best use of the little time I had as the sun was setting fast.

The bright spot in the clouds didn’t appear until I was making my way back to the car so this was shot after I was very familiar with the scene. Sometimes that’s what it takes to really nail the composition. Usually the first shots are throw away so it’s better to walk around and find something you really like.

