Sand and Water by Terry Schmidbauer
Sand and Water, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
It’s been awhile since I posted an abstract so this seems like as a good time as any. It’s nice to work on abstracts when you don’t have anything else to shoot. It’s a nice way to clear your mind and concentrate on what’s in the viewfinder. I actually go into a bit of trance when I shoot abstracts. I’m so focused on what’s going on in my viewfinder, I’m not aware of what’s going on around me. This lets me discover the whole frame and come up with an interesting composition.

I shot this on the beach in Tofino just a couple of steps from my tent. The beach was rather crowded with people but I was more interested in how the light was interacting with the sand and water. Although this is contrast of textures; there’s also a nice interaction between the textures in this composition. Your eye moves from top to bottom, left to right and I think that’s what makes this work. . I look at negative space when I’m composing and I think that is reflected in this very well. That negative space gives this image a musical feeling with the intervals between the sand.

