Contrast of Textures by Terry Schmidbauer
Contrast of Textures, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I was looking over the shots from this summer and stumbled on this one. This is a shot of Alanah at Rattlesnake Lake taken a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t shown it yet but it’s really too good to keep hidden on my hard drive. The contrast of old and new textures is what inspired me to take this image. It reminds me of something I would have seen in US Camera many years ago.

I did very little in post with this image. The only thing I really needed to do was lighten the darker shadows. That added noise in those areas but I just used the adjustment brush to do spot-noise reduction. It would be nice to see a smarter noise reduction tool in Lightroom in the future. This would be a tool that would isolate NR to the different tonal values in the images. For the most part, I only have problems with noise in the shadows and I really don’t like the highlights getting messed up.

