Waiting for Approval by Terry Schmidbauer
Waiting for Approval, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
This is a shot from the Mother Nature shoot at Rattlesnake Ridge that’s submitted to Cavan for approval. I couldn’t wait to see if it was accepted to start retouching it. The capture was exposed correctly and overall pretty good but I just wanted to improve on a couple of things to really make this image work.

What I really like about this image is how the white dress just lights up and separates itself from the background. I’m enhancing this by giving the overall image a blue tint which also helps to unify the background. Then I warmed up the skin tones which further brings the figure forward. I finalized the composition by adding a graduated filter to lighten the left side. This helps to bring the viewer’s eye into the frame and mimics the light direction. And because I can’t leave well enough alone, I lightly brushed in some highlights on the rocks. This was all done in Lightroom.

