The Empty Interval by Terry Schmidbauer
The Empty Interval, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Just when I think I’m done shooting these flipped images, I find one more. I can’t help but shoot one every day. I’ve even gone in to my archives and have flipped images that work perfectly fine as shot just to see what it will look like. The results really surprise me sometimes. This one takes on a whole new meaning when it’s flipped because of the shape of the sidewalk created by the flip. This one also has the added benefit of being a non-cropped capture so it is one huge file.

I processed this to look like it was shot with a view camera. I deepened the blacks, kept the highlights to a cream tone and desaturated the greens. Overall, the processing doesn’t look overdone but still makes a statement that works with the image, something I’m always striving for.

