Heaven Can Wait by Terry Schmidbauer
Heaven Can Wait, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I almost discarded this image when I was editing my shots from the Museum of Flight. It didn’t light up for me until after the composite in Photoshop and I saw the image as a whole. I thought I had missed the shot because the man was not isolated enough from the background. I would have liked to have captured him a step sooner but it works that he’s on a lighted square and out of the large shadow. The gesture is really what makes this work as it adds to the surreal feeling and at the same time it looks like something right out of a Jules Vern novel.

This may be the most successful image of the series to date because it really makes the viewer question the reality of the image; they know it’s a faked image but they want to believe that it’s real.

