The Stare by Terry Schmidbauer
The Stare, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Terje Haakonsen waiting in the box before his sixth win of the Legendary Banked Slalom at Mt Baker. I love the concentration in this shot. Terje stares straight at the first turn waiting to be let loose. Although he’s won this event five times before, he has a little competition this year in Travis Rice who is in the contest for the first time. Travis had the fastest time in the Saturday qualifiers so this run for Terje needs to be epic on this icy course.
While doing the post processing I was thinking about the 1969 movie “Downhill Racer” with Robert Redford. Although the movie was created in color; it always felt B&W to me. I also wanted to give this image a timeless quality so I worked in black and white and I toned it with just a touch of blue to make it feel like it was part of that era.

