Still in the Gate by Terry Schmidbauer
Still in the Gate, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I spent the day taking photos at Mt Baker’s Legendary Banked Slalom today. Although this was all new to me, after an hour of shooting the same old snowboarding photos I realized I wasn’t pushing myself to take photos that were out of my comfort zone. Then I started looking at the details around me and noticed there was a lot of tension that surrounded the starting gate at the top of the race. So I set out to capture that tension. All of the other photographers were taking the magazine shots and photos a sponsor would love. I was looking to for something different.

This is a photo of one of the racers in the starting box waiting for his turn to hit the icy course. Riders have been falling on the ice all day and I’m almost certain those thoughts are going thru his head as I took this shot. I know he wants a win today because this is one of the oldest and most prestigious races in snowboarding. The greatest riders in the history of the sport have won this race. But for right now, he has to wait.

