Night Crossing by Terry Schmidbauer
Night Crossing, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything so I thought I would dig something out of the archives and work on some post processing. This was taken on Halloween night this past year and although I really liked the shot, I never got around to processing it. I took this with the Hand Held Twilight setting and it did a really good job of cleaning up the noise from the high ISO of 6400. Although there still a little noise in the middle tones, it really doesn’t bother me. It actually reads as film grain and adds to the cinematic quality of the image. The overall look and feel of the image works so I’m more willing to except the imperfections.

The camera tilt is another imperfection that I’ve come to except in this image because it really adds to the overall feeling of the composition. At one point in the post process I had the image cropped to straighten out the horizon line but the image just lost all of its interest. The slight tilt animates the telephone poles and church steeple thereby giving them character and adding to the storyline. The tilt also helps to bring your eye back into the frame. With a straight horizon your eye would just flow from left to right and quickly exit the frame. It’s really subtle but a very significant part of the composition.

So I’m not only learning to become more accepting of imperfections, I’m using them to my advantage.

