Changes by Terry Schmidbauer
Changes, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I am really impressed with the Minolta 70-200mm f4, the so called beer can. I can understand why this lens has such a cult following. The colors are deep and rich while the bokeh is super smooth and creamy. Sure you can find problems when you zoom into the pixels but as an overall impression, this lens is quite amazing for 25 year old lens.

This image was taken in the marsh this morning. It represents a number of changes. First, the most obvious is the seasonal reference. Being covered in frost, this decaying green leaf is being overtaken by winter. Second, I’m changing to a much better lens for a zoom telephoto. I have been using the Sony 18-200 f3.5-5.6 and becoming disappointed with the quality of images on the new camera. I’m now splitting that same focal distance between two lenses, the Sony 18-50 f2.8 and the Minolta 70-200 f4. This will produce much better photographs. Lastly, there were signs posted at the marsh today that said the boardwalks will be closed until April for repair. This means my marsh project will either have to come to an end or be postponed until April. I’m not sure what they have in store for repairs but if they’re are going to be working on it that long,the results may have a huge impact on the look of my project. Not sure what I’ll do at this point but it may be a good time to wrap this project up anyway. Maybe after a couple of walks thru the frozen marsh and I’ll call it done.

