Compositional Crossroads by Terry Schmidbauer
Compositional Crossroads, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I was inspired by a German photographer on Flickr last week that shot most of his images on Point & Shoots. There was such an immediacy and focus to his images that it made me rethink how I compose my images.

This image is a total departure for me as a compositionalist. Although this looks like a totally random image there’s still an underling “Rule of Thirds” structure that makes it work. But instead of the compositional elements lining up on the dividing lines, they are contained within each of the one third sections. Think of it like this; if you were to cut this image into 3×3 sections, each of those sections would hold a compositional element. It’s like building blocks for the overall structure of the image.

Of course there are other compositional elements that help to move the viewer’s eye through the image, like balancing of dark shapes, leading lines and an implied story but they all held within the underlying structure of one third sections.

This is a really hard way to compose and most of the sections are not realized for me until I’m in Lightroom but I really feel like I made a break through and I’m going explore this further….

