Packing em Down. by Terry Schmidbauer
Packing em Down., a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:

This was taken down in the “U” district last night. I was killing time before a backcountry film opening so I experimented with my camera’s scene settings.

This is a setting called Handheld Twilight. The camera takes 6 really quick shots at higher ISOs and then merges them together to create a shot with less noise. You can do this with faster shutter speeds with no need for a tripod. It’s actually a pretty fun scene setting.

I processed this with a Kodak Tri-X 400 preset in Lightroom and didn’t need to add any noise reduction. Other than that the only processing I had to do was a burn the upper right corner to bring down the highlights.

The GPS data made it really easy to plot on the Flickr map.

 

