What's a Light String by Terry Schmidbauer
What’s a Light String, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
This was taken inside of a very dark lodge at the Nature Consortium’s Festival last August. The noise in this shot is just terrible but the gesture and overall composition is so nice I had to show it. I don’t know who this kid is, I was in the lodge photographing the lead singer of POTUSA and saw this image so I took the shot. I pushed my camera beyond what it’s capable of but I really had to capture the image. If you look at the EXIF data you will see a very low brightness value, it’s at -.63. A normal outdoor brightness value is around 6 or 7 while an indoor value is normally around 1. I cleaned it up the best I could in Lightroom but it still has a lot of noise that’s very unpleasant too look at. This image could never pass a stock image check. Hopefully my new Sony A77 will have a better dynamic range especially in the dark tones. It arrives on Saturday, I’m so excited!

