A Girl's Stare by Terry Schmidbauer
A Girl’s Stare, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
I was reviewing shots from the summer again this morning and rediscovered this image. I remember taking this shot and thinking that it was going to be a keeper. The gesture and color are so spot on in this image, I have to love it. The orange in the girl’s shirt is reflecting in her face and it’s just wonderful. The look on her face is really what makes the image work. It’s expressionless but still tells a story.
As I review my images from the past summer it’s come to my attention that I am really all over the board with my photography. I shoot everything from nature to portraits. Most photography instructors will tell you that if you want to become a professional photographer, you need to specialize in something. I believe this to be the biggest difference between an amateur and professional photographer. An amateur has the luxury of shooting whatever they like and I really like that. For the most part my photography is a reflection of my life and I am always willing to try something different. It’s really what makes life interesting for me. So I’m glad I don’t shoot professionally but that doesn’t make my images of less value than someone who does.

