The Elegant Schnauzer by Terry Schmidbauer
The Elegant Schnauzer, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Michele and I had a photo shoot today for Allpaws with a couple of really sweet Schnauzers. We originally scheduled the shoot for late in the afternoon but after a look at the weather in the morning, we switched it to midday. Good call because we totally lucked out with some sun breaks around 1:15!

This is a wonderful, quiet moment and very uncommon for such active breed. It’s not going to be one of the client’s favorite but I really like it and I thought I would give it some exposure.

These two dogs were in constant motion from the time the entered our backyard. It was a real chalange trying to photograph something usable. I’m not sure how I captured this pose but I’m always on the lookout for those quiet moments during a shoot.

There is something about the gesture and it’s elegance that draws me to this image. The lighting is beautiful and works well with composition. The negative spaces are interesting and help to frame the focal point. The depth of field is just enough to bring the dog’s beard forward but leave everything else in the background soft but detailed. I would have like some more of the eye showing but for the most part I’m pretty happy with this photo.

