Saturday Night Showers by Terry Schmidbauer
Saturday Night Showers, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
This shot is slightly voyeuristic but I don’t see anything wrong with that. I saw this image as I was walking around Alki Beach on Saturday night. When I saw the light on the girls in the shower I knew it was a great shot so I took a really quick capture and just walked away before I drew attention to myself. Some people may not have thought photographing this scene would be appropriate and I wasn’t willing to stick around and find out.
The composition is a direct result of the lens. I would have normally had mounted on my 18 – 200mm which would have gave more of a close up photo but I wanted to work with my new 35mm and force myself into new compositional scenarios. The really interesting thing about this composition is the space between the viewer and the subjects. There’s a sense that the viewer is not invited to this shower event and must keep their distance which is exactly how I felt at the time. I really think this 35mm holds a new truth in compositions for me, I think I’m going to enjoy working with it.

