Warm Tones at Alki by Terry Schmidbauer
Warm Tones at Alki, a photo by Terry Schmidbauer on Flickr.

Via Flickr:

This is from a photo shoot with Crystaline at Alki on Saturday night. I originally met Crystaline at a lakefront park in Kirkland on Day 309 of my Project 365 back in February.  I took some photos of her and we later connected on Facebook. She immediately discovered that we have the same birthday and we’ve been friends ever since.

I wasn’t sure how I was going to shoot this session but I had this idea of a B&W, post-war Europe, cinema shot. This first thing I did when I saw all of the shots in Lightroom was discard the idea of B&W. The color of the light was just too beautiful to discard. My processing workflow was opposite to how I normally work. I made the adjustments manually in develop mode and then looked for preset to enhanced the work I did. I ended up using a Kodachrome 25 preset for a slight color adjustment to desaturate the blues. This helps draw more attention to the Crystaline and really brings out the warm tones.

I really love my new Sony 35mm 1.8 I bought at Kenmore camera last week! It’s a focal length I haven’t spent too much time in so using the prime forces me to shoot something different. During this photo shoot I swapped to my favorite 16-200mm but took it off almost immediately because I reverted to just shooting the same old close ups. The vision I had for this shoot was more of a full figure, environment portrait photo and I wanted to follow thru with what my original thoughts were.

